This is the "About the Library" page of the "Library Services & Policies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Services & Policies   Tags: faculty, library, library policies, library services, policies, services, staff, students  

This page includes the Health Sciences Library's general policies and services, as well as Services for Faculty, and Services for Students.
Last Updated: Apr 30, 2012 URL: http://lancastergeneralcollege.libguides.com/libservices Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

About the Library Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About the Library - Brief Overview

Staff:

Library Director: Cynthia McClellan
 
Assistant Librarian: Marie Fitzsimmons

Library Specialist: Esther Ruth
 

Overview

The Health Sciences Library is a hub within the College’s learning community, providing access to current, authoritative resources that support the College and Hospital community.

Access to all of the Library’s online resources, including electronic journals, a host of databases, the online catalog, eBooks, and other materials guides is available through the LGH network.  Remote access is available via VPN or Citrix, enabling research from home or other  locations.

The Health Sciences Library is located on the first floor of Lancaster General Hospital, near the James Street entrance. With approximately 2800 square feet of space and seating for 42. The Library contains two large tables, study carrels, and a lounge area. Ten networked computer workstations are available for the use of students, faculty, and hospital personnel. Patients, their families, and the community are invited to use the Library as well, with a special collection containing books on a wide range of diseases and conditions geared specifically to non-professionals.

The Library’s online collections consist of thousands of eJournals as well as a growing collection of close to 200 eBooks.  Print media includes nearly 8000 books, and subscriptions to numerous print journals. In addition, AV materials (anatomical models, DVDs, etc.) are also available.  The Director collaborates with staff, the College’s faculty, and Hospital personnel to ensure that resources are available to meet both educational and clinical information needs.

Networked computer workstations provide access to a multitude of online databases, including the EBSCOhost suite (CINAHL Plus, Rehabilitation Reference Center, PsycInfo, The Cochrane Library, Health Business Elite, Academic Search Premier.... etc!). Additional databases include MD Consult, The Natural Standard; Access Medicine and Access Surgery; Stat!Ref; UpToDate; PsychiatryOnline; and the Ovid search platform.

Check out our Databases page to learn more!

Have a question?  Contact your Library!

 


Assistance with Use of Library Resources
New students and faculty are oriented to the Library by the library staff. Individual and/or group sessions are held to provide bibliographic instruction and general instruction on the use of the library systems. Interactive database tutorials are available on the Library's Intranet website. Requests for individual instruction and assistance with specific search requests are encouraged.


Memberships Held by the Library
The library holds memberships in CPHSLA (Central Pennsylvania Health Sciences Library Association), BHSL (Basic Health Sciences Library Network), and the National Library of Medicine document delivery system (Docline), which provides access to resources worldwide through interlibrary loan.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Cynthia McClellan, Library Director
Contact Info
717 544-5697
Send Email

Librarian

Profile Image
Marie FitzSimmons
Contact Info
Health Sciences Library
Lancaster General Health
James Street Entrance
717-544-5698
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip